For an emergency lighting system for office floors, I’d start with the LFI Lights emergency fixture as the best overall fit for a straightforward, listed unit with adjustable heads. The VEVOR six-pack stands out for outfitting several locations at once, while the Lithonia exit-sign combo adds wayfinding and emergency illumination in one fixture. The main tradeoffs are hardwired versus plug-in installation, coverage per unit, and whether you need an exit sign as well as backup lighting. Read on for how these seven options differ and which layout each suits best.
Get business pricing on networking and server gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- LFI Lights is the best overall starting point: its UL 924 listing and adjustable heads suit buyers seeking a conventional commercial emergency fixture, though it is a single-unit option.
- VEVOR offers the clearest multi-location package: six fixtures and a stated 90-minute runtime support broad coverage, but the pack may exceed the needs of a small floor.
- The Lithonia combo serves a different purpose: it combines an exit sign with emergency lighting, which may help at a marked egress point but is not a substitute for a floor-wide layout.
- Installation type narrows the field quickly: TANLUX’s plug-in model avoids some hardwired work, while the outdoor hardwired unit and TANLUX hardwired model suit fixed electrical connections.
- Pack count does not prove coverage: the FREELICHT four-pack and VEVOR six-pack need to be judged against floor plan, spacing, and applicable code—not just the number of fixtures.
| emergency lighting system for office floor | Backup runtime | Input voltage | Battery |
|---|---|---|---|
| TANLUX LED Emergency Light wit | At least 90 minutes | AC120V | 3.6V nickel-cadmium |
| Outdoor Emergency Light with B | Over 90 minutes | 120–347V | — |
| LFI Lights Emergency Lights fo | Over 90 minutes | 120/277V | 3.6V 1000mAh NiCad |
| VEVOR 6 Pack Emergency Lights | At least 90 minutes | AC 120/277V | — |
| FREELICHT 4 Pack Emergency Lig | — | — | — |
| Lithonia Lighting Basics LED E | 90 minutes | — | Rechargeable 3.6V nickel-metal hydride |
| TANLUX LED Emergency Lights wi | At least 90 minutes | — | 3.6V nickel-cadmium |
More Details on Our Top Picks
TANLUX LED Emergency Light with Battery Backup, Commercial Fixture for Business Home Power Failure Exit Sign Lighting, 1.0 Meter Plug-in Cord AC120V Input, Black
For office floors where a hardwired fixture is impractical, this TANLUX model’s 3.28-foot plug-in cord offers a simpler placement option near an outlet. Its adjustable LED head can be aimed toward a corridor or exit approach, while the 3.6V NiCd battery is specified to provide at least 90 minutes of backup lighting. Compared with the LFI Lights EL-W2, which supports 120/277V and surface or ceiling mounting, this unit is limited to 120V and depends on a nearby receptacle. The flame-retardant ABS shell is a useful construction detail, but the product description does not provide a lumen output, so I would not use it as the sole basis for planning coverage across a long floor. Its NiCd battery also brings replacement and disposal concerns over time.
Pros:- Plug-in cord allows placement without hardwiring.
- At least 90 minutes of stated battery backup.
- Adjustable LED head can be directed toward a route or doorway.
- ABS housing is specified as UL-94V-0 flame retardant.
Cons:- AC120V input only, unlike the 120/277V LFI Lights model.
- No lumen output is provided for coverage planning.
- NiCd battery requires eventual replacement and careful disposal.
Best for: Office managers needing a plug-in emergency fixture for a small office, short corridor, or location where hardwiring is not practical.
Not ideal for: Facilities teams planning broad floor coverage or installations without a nearby 120V outlet; the listed details do not specify light output, and the cord limits placement.
- Input voltage:AC120V
- Power cord:3.28 ft (1.0 m), US 2-prong plug
- Battery:3.6V nickel-cadmium
- Backup runtime:At least 90 minutes
- Light source:Adjustable super-bright LED head
- Housing:Injection-molded ABS, UL-94V-0 flame retardant
- Stated applications:Office buildings, exit doors, stairs, schools, hospitals, and other commercial spaces
Our verdict“Choose this TANLUX when plug-in installation matters more than wide-voltage compatibility or documented light output.”
Outdoor Emergency Light with Battery Backup, Hardwired Waterproof LED Exit Light, UL Listed, 120-347V (1 Pack)
This fixture fills a different role from the indoor-focused LFI Lights EL-W2: it is described as waterproof and suitable for wet locations, making it a candidate for an office’s exterior exit approach or exposed entry. Its broad 120–347V input range can suit varied building supplies, and the stated backup exceeds 90 minutes. Adjustable heads let staff direct light toward a door or nearby path. The tradeoff is modest stated output: at 800 lumens, it may not cover a large exterior area, and the product information calls for a flat wall surface to form the waterproof seal. The listing also describes it as hardwired while specifying a battery/electric power source, so I would confirm the wiring and mounting requirements before ordering. For indoor floor coverage, the VEVOR six-pack offers more fixtures per purchase.
Pros:- Waterproof design is specified for exterior and wet-location use.
- 120–347V input supports a broad range of building supplies.
- Battery backup is stated to exceed 90 minutes.
- Adjustable lighting heads support directional aiming.
Cons:- 800-lumen output may not serve a large outdoor area.
- Waterproof sealing depends on a flat mounting surface.
- Hardwired installation details should be confirmed because the listing also describes battery/electric power.
Best for: Facilities teams adding emergency illumination at a wet or exposed exterior exit where a wide input-voltage range is useful.
Not ideal for: Office managers seeking a clearly documented indoor floor-wide package or installation on uneven masonry; the seal requires a flat wall and output may be limited for broad areas.
- Input voltage:120–347V
- Brightness:800 lumens
- Backup runtime:Over 90 minutes
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Water resistance:Waterproof; specified for wet locations
- Wattage:2 watts
- Control:Push button
- Warranty:Limited
Our verdict“Pick this model for a wet or exposed office exit, not as the main fixture package for indoor corridors.”
LFI Lights Emergency Lights for Business, LED Emergency Light with Battery Backup, UL 924 Listed, Adjustable Square LED Heads, White Housing
For a single indoor office location where compliance and supply compatibility matter, the LFI Lights EL-W2 offers a well-defined specification set: UL 924 listing, 120/277V operation, and two adjustable LED heads. The listed runtime is over 90 minutes, matching the baseline offered by the TANLUX plug-in model, while the LFI supports both ceiling and surface mounting rather than relying on a nearby outlet. Its stated maximum output is 160 lumens, so I would treat it as localized route lighting rather than assume it can illuminate a long corridor on its own. The VEVOR six-pack is more suited to outfitting multiple points at once, but this LFI unit is the more straightforward choice when a buyer wants a specified, listed indoor fixture. It is indoor-only, and installation may call for a qualified electrician.
Pros:- UL 924 listed for emergency-lighting applications.
- 120/277V input suits common commercial electrical supplies.
- Two adjustable heads allow directional coverage.
- Supports ceiling and surface mounting.
Cons:- Maximum listed output of 160 lumens may be inadequate for broad areas.
- Indoor use only, unlike the waterproof outdoor fixture in this lineup.
- Installation may require a qualified electrician.
Best for: Office facilities buyers selecting one UL 924-listed indoor fixture for a hallway, stair approach, or localized egress point.
Not ideal for: Teams outfitting a whole floor in one purchase or needing outdoor coverage; it is an individual indoor unit with modest stated maximum output.
- Model:EL-W2
- Input voltage:120/277V
- Wattage:3W
- Light output:80.9 lumens per head; maximum 160 lumens
- Battery:3.6V 1000mAh NiCad
- Backup runtime:Over 90 minutes
- Mounting:Ceiling or surface mount
- Certification and use:UL 924 listed; indoor
Our verdict“Choose the LFI EL-W2 for a listed, configurable indoor fixture at a specific office egress point.”
VEVOR 6 Pack Emergency Lights for Business with Battery Backup, LED Exit Lighting Fixtures, AC 120/277V, Adjustable Dual Heads, 90-Minute Runtime, White
For buyers outfitting several office-floor locations at once, this VEVOR set’s defining advantage is quantity: six wall-mounted fixtures with adjustable dual heads can spread coverage across corridors, stair approaches, and other egress points. It supports 120/277V input and is described as providing at least 90 minutes of emergency illumination. Compared with the single LFI Lights EL-W2, the VEVOR package is better suited to a multi-location plan, though the LFI listing provides a specific UL 924 certification that is not stated in the VEVOR details supplied here. The VEVOR’s maximum 230-lumen output is still a planning constraint; six fixtures do not automatically solve spacing or photometric requirements. It is indoor-only and not water resistant, and the larger package may be excessive for a small suite.
Pros:- Six fixtures support coverage at multiple office-floor locations.
- 120/277V input is suited to common commercial supplies.
- Adjustable dual heads allow aiming toward egress routes.
- At least 90 minutes of stated emergency runtime.
Cons:- Indoor-only and not water resistant.
- Maximum stated output of 230 lumens may limit coverage per fixture.
- The supplied product data does not state UL 924 certification.
Best for: Office facilities teams coordinating emergency-light placement across multiple indoor corridor, stair, and exit locations.
Not ideal for: Small offices needing just one fixture or sites that need outdoor protection; this is a six-unit indoor-only package with no stated water resistance.
- Pack size:6 fixtures
- Input voltage:AC 120/277V
- Backup runtime:At least 90 minutes
- Maximum light output:230 lumens
- Wattage:3 watts
- Mounting and use:Indoor wall mount
- Light source:Integrated LED with adjustable heads
- Dimensions:13.78 × 4.33 × 2.95 inches
Our verdict“Choose the VEVOR pack when you need several indoor emergency-light points, while checking placement and code requirements for the floor.”
FREELICHT 4 Pack Emergency Lights for Business, Square Heads, 90min Battery
The FREELICHT four-pack is a practical middle ground for an office manager who needs multiple fixtures but does not need the VEVOR set’s six-unit count. Its UL 924 compliance, flame-retardant high-impact housing, and adjustable square heads align with commercial indoor use, while the built-in NiCd batteries are specified for 90 minutes of operation. Compared with the VEVOR pack, FREELICHT gives you two fewer fixtures, but its supplied details explicitly name UL 924 compliance; the VEVOR data does not. The tradeoff is that the FREELICHT listing does not provide voltage range, lumen output, or fixture dimensions, making it harder to plan electrical compatibility and spacing for an entire floor. Its NiCd chemistry also means eventual battery replacement. I would treat this as a starter coverage set, not a fully specified floor-wide design.
Pros:- Four fixtures provide coverage at several office locations.
- UL 924 compliance is stated in the product data.
- High-impact, flame-retardant housing is specified.
- Adjustable heads and 90-minute battery operation support egress lighting.
Cons:- Voltage range and lumen output are not specified in the supplied data.
- NiCd batteries require eventual replacement and disposal.
- Four units may not cover a larger office floor.
Best for: Small-office managers who need four indoor emergency fixtures and want stated UL 924 compliance for a limited installation.
Not ideal for: Facilities teams planning a large floor or needing confirmed voltage, output, or dimensions before specifying fixtures; those details are not provided.
- Pack size:4 fixtures
- Battery type:NiCd
- Battery duration:90 minutes
- Compliance:UL 924
- Housing:Injection-molded, flame-retardant, high-impact resistant
- Light heads:Adjustable square heads
- Installation:Standard junction boxes
Our verdict“Choose FREELICHT for a smaller multi-point installation where stated UL 924 compliance matters more than detailed output specifications.”
Lithonia Lighting Basics LED Exit Sign and Emergency Light Combo, White
For office floors that need an exit marker and local emergency illumination at the same point, this Lithonia combination fixture saves a separate sign-and-light installation. Its switchable red or green lettering gives facilities teams flexibility to match building signage plans, while the rechargeable battery supplies 90 minutes of backup during an outage. Compared with the TANLUX two-head emergency light, this model adds exit signage but offers less illumination output at 113 lumens and is not designed for broad, open-floor coverage. The impact-resistant thermoplastic housing and multiple mounting options suit indoor commercial corridors and rooms. Its tradeoff is specialization: it does not support remote heads, and the stated indoor use rules it out for exposed or wet locations. I’d choose it where integrated wayfinding matters more than illuminating a larger area.
Pros:- Combines an exit sign and emergency light in one fixture
- Switchable red and green lettering supports different signage schemes
- Provides 90 minutes of battery backup
- Impact-resistant housing and multiple mounting options suit commercial interiors
Cons:- 113 lumens is better suited to nearby coverage than large open areas
- Does not support remote head installation
- Not recommended for outdoor or wet environments
Best for: Office facility managers who need an exit sign and nearby emergency lighting in one indoor corridor or compact room fixture.
Not ideal for: Teams lighting large open-plan floors, needing remote light heads, or installing fixtures in outdoor or wet areas.
- Dimensions:19.09 in L × 7.95 in H × 4.33 in D
- Voltage:120/277V
- Battery:Rechargeable 3.6V nickel-metal hydride
- Backup runtime:90 minutes
- Light output:113 lumens
- Material:Impact-resistant thermoplastic
- Letter colors:Switchable red or green with lens inserts
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose this Lithonia combo when an indoor office location needs both visible exit signage and local backup illumination in one fixture.”
TANLUX LED Emergency Lights with Battery Backup, Two Head Adjustable Commercial Emergency Exit Light Fixtures, UL Listed, AC 120/277V, Hardwired, White
Where an office floor needs emergency illumination rather than an integrated exit sign, the TANLUX two-head fixture offers a focused, adjustable setup. Its two 200-lumen LED heads can be aimed toward a corridor path or nearby doorway, giving facilities teams more control over light placement than the Lithonia exit-sign combo, which has lower stated output and prioritizes signage. The 90-minute battery backup, 120/277V AC compatibility, and wall mounting make it a practical fit for commercial interiors with compatible wiring. Its flame-retardant ABS housing and water-resistant rating add useful protection, but the listing still limits it to indoor use. This is a standalone emergency light, not a sign-and-light combination, and the non-removable fixture may complicate replacement choices. I’d favor it for directed coverage, not broad-area lighting or locations needing outdoor-rated equipment.
Pros:- Two adjustable heads allow light to be aimed toward routes and doorways
- 200 lumens of stated brightness with 90 minutes of battery backup
- 120/277V AC compatibility suits common commercial electrical systems
- UL-94V-0 flame-retardant housing and water-resistant construction
Cons:- Does not include an exit sign, unlike the Lithonia combo
- Indoor-use limitation excludes outdoor locations
- Non-removable fixture can limit replacement flexibility
Best for: Office managers outfitting indoor corridors, stair approaches, or rooms where adjustable emergency light heads are more useful than an integrated exit sign.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need exit signage in the same fixture, outdoor installation, or wide-area illumination from a single unit.
- Material:Injection-molded thermoplastic ABS
- Battery:3.6V nickel-cadmium
- Backup runtime:At least 90 minutes
- Voltage:120/277V AC
- Light sources:Two adjustable LED heads
- Brightness:200 lumens
- Mounting:Wall mount
- Water resistance:Water resistant; indoor use
Our verdict“Pick the TANLUX when adjustable, standalone emergency lighting is the priority for an indoor office corridor or room.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options for office-floor use by looking at the factors that shape a practical installation: listed use and stated runtime, power and mounting approach, adjustable light heads, and whether a product combines emergency lighting with an exit sign. I also weighed how readily each listing supports a buyer’s intended scale, from one replacement fixture to a multi-location rollout. A listed fixture or a stated runtime can help with screening, but neither alone proves that a full office layout meets local requirements.
The order favors options with a clear fit for common office needs and useful information for planning. LFI Lights leads as a conventional single fixture; VEVOR follows for buyers covering multiple points, while Lithonia earns a distinct place for combined sign-and-light functionality. The hardwired, plug-in, outdoor, and smaller multi-pack choices rank below those picks because each addresses a narrower installation or scale. I treat product claims as listing details, not a substitute for checking local code, compatibility, and the finished layout with a qualified professional.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Emergency Lighting System For Office Floors
Before choosing a fixture, I’d plan the floor’s egress route and installation conditions, then match products to the job. The right choice depends less on a headline feature than on where light is needed, how power reaches each point, and what local rules require.
Map the Egress Route Before Counting Fixtures
Begin with a floor plan showing exits, corridors, stair doors, changes in direction, and areas where occupants may need to identify an obstruction. A pack of four or six lights does not automatically cover a floor: spacing, mounting height, beam direction, and room geometry all affect usable illumination. A common mistake is placing units only near exits while leaving long corridors or turns poorly served. Ask a qualified designer or local authority how the applicable rules translate into placement and performance for your building. Then compare fixture count against that plan, rather than buying by pack size alone. This approach may mean combining different fixture types across one floor.
Choose Plug-In or Hardwired Around the Building
A plug-in model can simplify replacement where a suitable outlet is already positioned correctly, but its cord and outlet location may limit clean placement. Hardwired fixtures can better suit permanent installations, yet they require compatible wiring and appropriate installation work. Do not assume a product’s voltage range means it fits every circuit or existing junction box; confirm the building supply and installation instructions. For an office renovation, coordinate fixture locations with electrical plans before finishes are complete. For an occupied office, factor in access, disruption, and who is authorized to install the equipment. The lower-friction option is the one that fits the site, not automatically the one with fewer wiring steps.
Treat Runtime and Listing Marks as Separate Checks
A stated 90-minute runtime, as featured by some multi-pack options here, is useful product information, but it does not establish that the fixture suits every code requirement or installation. Check the full documentation for applicable listings, test procedures, battery details, and any conditions attached to the runtime claim. A marking such as UL 924 can help identify a product evaluated for relevant emergency-lighting use, but buyers still need to verify the specific model and intended application. Avoid comparing units on battery duration alone: output, maintained performance, and installation conditions matter too. Keep records of product documentation and commissioning checks for facilities staff. Local requirements and the building’s occupancy should guide the final specification.
Decide Whether an Exit Sign Belongs at the Same Point
An emergency light illuminates a route; an exit sign identifies a direction or exit. A combo such as the Lithonia model can bring both functions together at a point where a sign is needed, but that does not mean every emergency-light location needs a combo fixture. Check sign visibility from the approach path and whether architectural features or doors block the view. Some floors may need separate signs and lights to serve different sightlines. Combining functions can reduce the number of separate fixtures at one location, while limiting flexibility if the lighting and sign need different placements. Base the decision on the egress plan and applicable signage rules.
Plan for Testing, Battery Replacement, and Access
Emergency fixtures are only useful if they operate when normal power fails, so include testing and upkeep in the purchase decision. Identify how the unit is tested, how staff can reach the test control, and how battery replacement is handled according to the manufacturer’s instructions. A high ceiling or difficult corridor access can make routine checks more labor-intensive than the fixture choice suggests. Multi-packs may simplify standardization across a floor, but only if replacement parts and model identification remain easy to manage. Record installation dates and inspection results in a maintenance log. Ask facilities staff to review service access before settling on locations.
Buy to a Verified Layout, Not a Pack-Count Shortcut
Multi-packs can make sense when several points need the same fixture, while a single unit is better for a targeted replacement or a small installation. The VEVOR six-pack and FREELICHT four-pack offer different quantities, but neither pack count establishes sufficient coverage or code compliance. Surplus fixtures can create storage and maintenance burdens, while too few units can leave gaps that only appear during a layout review. First count required locations, then confirm each location’s fixture type and electrical setup. Standardizing on one model may simplify spares, but mixed layouts can be appropriate when exits, exposed areas, and corridors have different needs. Get the layout checked before ordering a large quantity.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a plug-in emergency light as the main backup lighting on an office floor?
It can be suitable where the fixture is intended for that use and an appropriately located outlet supports the planned placement. A cord may restrict mounting position or leave the unit less tidy than a hardwired fixture. Confirm the product documentation, building electrical conditions, and local requirements before treating it as part of the floor’s emergency system. Also check whether an outlet is on a circuit that behaves as required during a power failure. For a permanent commercial layout, have the installation reviewed rather than relying on convenience alone.
Does a 90-minute runtime mean a multi-pack is enough for my office floor?
No. Runtime describes how long a product is stated to operate under specified conditions; it does not establish how many fixtures the floor needs or how well they illuminate the route. Coverage depends on layout, mounting, light output, and the applicable building requirements. The VEVOR and FREELICHT packs make it easier to buy multiple units, but the quantities are not a coverage calculation. Map the egress paths and have the proposed placements checked before choosing a pack. Verify the exact runtime and testing details in the manufacturer’s documentation.
Should I choose an exit-sign combo or separate emergency lights and signs?
Choose a combo where the same location needs both visible exit direction and backup illumination, provided the unit’s placement serves both purposes. Separate fixtures can give you more freedom to position a sign for visibility and lights for coverage. The Lithonia combo is the roundup’s dedicated combined-function option, while the other products focus primarily on emergency illumination. Check sightlines from corridors and decision points, as a sign hidden by a door or partition may not help occupants. Follow local rules for both signage and emergency lighting.
When is a hardwired fixture a better choice than a plug-in model?
Hardwired fixtures generally make more sense for a fixed installation designed around building wiring, especially when an outlet would be poorly located or a cord would interfere with placement. Plug-in units can be easier to fit into a suitable existing setup, but the outlet and cord constrain where they can go. The TANLUX plug-in option and the hardwired models in this roundup serve different installation conditions rather than forming a simple quality ladder. Confirm voltage, wiring, mounting, and manufacturer instructions before purchase. Use a qualified installer when the work or local rules call for one.
What should I verify before ordering emergency lights for several floors?
Confirm each floor’s plan, egress routes, fixture locations, power supply, mounting conditions, and applicable requirements before multiplying a single-floor order. A six-pack that suits one floor may not suit another with a different layout or electrical setup. Check that the exact model has the documentation and listings needed for its intended use, and confirm battery and test procedures with facilities staff. Consider standardizing where layouts match, while allowing different fixtures at exit-sign points or exposed locations. Keep a record of model numbers and installation locations to support future maintenance.
Conclusion
For most buyers choosing a conventional office-floor fixture, I’d start with LFI Lights as the best overall, while the VEVOR six-pack is my best value pick for multiple planned locations. Buyers who need combined wayfinding and backup light should look at the Lithonia combo; those seeking a more specified commercial setup can compare the hardwired, listed options, including TANLUX’s two-head model, as a best premium-style fit for fixed installations. For beginners, the TANLUX plug-in fixture may be the more approachable option where a suitable outlet and permitted installation make sense. Choose the outdoor hardwired unit for an exposed location only after confirming its suitability there, and choose FREELICHT when a four-unit quantity matches a verified plan. Before purchase, have the floor layout and local requirements checked so the fixture count and placement work as a system.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.







