9 Best Data Center Backup Batteries for 2026
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

For most data center teams, I’d start with the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN: its online design suits sensitive equipment and power conditions that call for continuous conditioning. The APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA stands out for higher-capacity deployments, while the Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion offers a smaller-footprint option with a lithium-ion battery. The main choice is between online and line-interactive protection, then matching capacity, runtime, rack space, and management features to the load. A larger VA rating alone does not tell you how long a UPS will run your equipment. Read on for how the nine picks differ and which type of data center each suits.

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on networking and server gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
9
compared
3
brands
5000VA / 4500W
max capacity
Which backup batteries for data center should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit
Best for Long Service Life
Lithium-ion battery is described as lasting up to twice as long as traditional VRLA batteries
See on Amazon →
IT teams that need 2700W of sinewave backup, clear local status, and seven protected outlets without requiring included network monitoring.
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/
2700W capacity supports more equipment than the 1000W CyberPower PR1000RT2UC
View on Amazon →
Data center operators protecting sensitive server, storage, telecom, or network loads who want online topology, network monitoring, and optional runtime expansion.
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000V
Online topology for power-sensitive equipment
View on Amazon →
Small IT teams protecting a few servers, VoIP equipment, or telecom devices that benefit from cloud status and eight outlets.
CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart A
Eight NEMA 5-15R outlets for connected equipment
View on Amazon →
Data center teams with compatible 208V infrastructure that need up to 4250W of rack-mounted backup capacity.
APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-
4250W capacity exceeds the 2700W CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN
View on Amazon →
Capacity — compared
Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit1500VA / 1350W
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/3000VA / 2700W
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000V3000VA / 2700W
CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart A1000VA / 1000W
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000V3000VA / 3000W
CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart 2000VA / 2000W
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart 3000VA / 3000W
Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA / 4500W
Pros & cons at a glance
Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit
✓ Lithium-ion battery is described as lasting up to twice as long as traditional VRLA batteries
✗ Full-load runtime is limited to 7.5 minutes
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/
✓ 2700W capacity supports more equipment than the 1000W CyberPower PR1000RT2UC
✗ Remote management requires a separately purchased RMCARD205
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000V
✓ Online topology for power-sensitive equipment
✗ Extended battery modules are optional
CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart A
✓ Eight NEMA 5-15R outlets for connected equipment
✗ 1000W capacity is substantially below the 2700W CyberPower PR3000LCDSL
APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-
✓ 4250W capacity exceeds the 2700W CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN
✗ 123 lb weight makes installation and rack handling demanding
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000V
✓ 3000W capacity and sine wave output suit sensitive server equipment.
✗ RMCARD205 remote management card is sold separately.
CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart
✓ Pre-installed RMCARD205 and cloud monitoring provide remote visibility out of the box.
✗ Listed runtime is four minutes, limiting the available shutdown window.
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart
✓ 3000W capacity with sine wave output supports sensitive equipment and active PFC supplies.
✗ Listed runtime is two minutes, a narrow window for graceful shutdown.
Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208
✓ 4500W output provides more capacity than the 3000W CyberPower models.
✗ Runtime is three minutes at full load.

Key Takeaways

  • The CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN is the overall pick for loads that benefit from online power conversion; its architecture gives it a different role from the line-interactive PR models.
  • The APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA and Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 target higher-capacity needs, but a 5000VA label does not make their watt ratings, runtime, or installation requirements interchangeable.
  • The Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion is the compact, lower-capacity option; its lithium-ion chemistry distinguishes it from the larger, conventional rack-focused choices.
  • CyberPower’s PR lineup covers several deployment sizes and forms, from the PR1000RT2UC for smaller loads to 3000VA rack and tower models, so buyers should compare exact wattage, outlets, and management features.
  • Rack fit and service planning separate plausible picks from practical ones: check depth, weight, input power, battery replacement, bypass needs, and runtime at your actual load before choosing.
2
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/
Best for Straightforward High-Capacity Backup
1
Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit
Best for Long Service Life
3
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000V
Best for Power-Sensitive Loads

Our Top Best Backup Batteries For Data Centers Picks

Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion UPS with AVR and RDU120Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion UPS with AVR and RDU120Best for Long Service LifeCapacity: 1500VA / 1350WBattery type: Lithium-ionTopology: Line-interactiveVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/2700W Sinewave UPS Battery Backup and Surge ProtectorCyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/2700W Sinewave UPS Battery Backup and Surge ProtectorBest for Straightforward High-Capacity BackupCapacity: 3000VA / 2700WOutlets: Six NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-20RInput plug: NEMA L5-30PVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000VA Online UPS Battery BackupCyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000VA Online UPS Battery BackupBest for Power-Sensitive LoadsCapacity: 3000VA / 2700WTopology: OnlineOutput waveform: Sine waveVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery BackupCyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery BackupBest for Small Server RacksCapacity: 1000VA / 1000WOutput waveform: Sine waveOutlets: 8 NEMA 5-15RVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-Mount UPS, 4250WAPC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-Mount UPS, 4250WBest for High-Load 208V RacksLoad capacity: 5000VA / 4250WInput voltage: 208V ACOutput voltage: 208V ACVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000VA/3000W Smart App Sinewave UPSCyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000VA/3000W Smart App Sinewave UPSBest for Extendable RuntimeCapacity: 3000VA / 3000WTopology: Line-interactiveOutput waveform: Sine waveVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery BackupCyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery BackupBest for Included Remote ManagementCapacity: 2000VA / 2000WForm factor: 2U rack/tower convertibleInput and output voltage: 120V ACVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart App Sinewave UPS, 3000VA/3000W, 9 Outlets, 2U Rack/TowerCyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart App Sinewave UPS, 3000VA/3000W, 9 Outlets, 2U Rack/TowerBest for High-Capacity Rack LoadsCapacity: 3000VA / 3000WForm factor: 2U rack/towerTopology: Line-interactiveVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA/4500W UPS Battery Backup, 2U Rack/Tower MountVertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA/4500W UPS Battery Backup, 2U Rack/Tower MountBest for 208V High-Capacity LoadsCapacity: 5000VA / 4500WOutput voltage: 208VOutput current: 18.37AVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
backup batteries for data centerCapacityWarrantyOutletsForm factor
Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit1500VA / 1350W5 years for UPS and battery—2U rackmount
CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/3000VA / 2700W3 years, including the batterySix NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-20R—
CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000V3000VA / 2700W3 years, including batteriesSix NEMA 5-20R and one L5-30R—
CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart A1000VA / 1000W3 years, including batteries8 NEMA 5-15R—
APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-———Rack-mountable
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000V3000VA / 3000W3 years, including batteriesEight NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-30R—
CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart 2000VA / 2000W3 years, including batteries8 NEMA 5-20R2U rack/tower convertible
CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart 3000VA / 3000W3 years, including batteries8 × NEMA 5-20R; 1 × NEMA L5-30R2U rack/tower
Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA / 4500W2 years—2U rack mount / tower convertible

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion UPS with AVR and RDU120

    Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion UPS with AVR and RDU120

    Best for Long Service Life

    View Latest Price

    The Vertiv Liebert PSI5 pairs a 1500VA/1350W capacity with a lithium-ion battery, pure sine wave output, and AVR. Its clearest advantage over the CyberPower PR3000LCDSL is the included RDU120 card for remote monitoring; the CyberPower offers twice the VA capacity but needs an optional card for remote management. The PSI5’s battery is described as lasting up to twice as long as traditional VRLA batteries, and it recharges to full in two hours or less. That combination can reduce battery replacement frequency and shorten recovery after an outage. The tradeoff is limited runtime under heavy load: the stated full-load runtime is 7.5 minutes, so it suits a protected rack segment better than a large server load. Its five-year UPS and battery coverage is the longest stated here.

    Pros:
    • Lithium-ion battery is described as lasting up to twice as long as traditional VRLA batteries
    • Pure sine wave output and AVR support server and networking equipment
    • RDU120 remote monitoring card is included
    • Five-year coverage includes both the UPS and battery
    Cons:
    • Full-load runtime is limited to 7.5 minutes
    • 1350W capacity is below the 2700W CyberPower PR3000 models in this roundup

    Best for: Data center teams protecting a modest server or networking rack that value remote monitoring, quick recharge, and longer battery service life.

    Not ideal for: Teams needing several kilowatts of capacity or extended full-load runtime; the 1350W ceiling and 7.5-minute full-load figure may be restrictive.

    • Capacity:1500VA / 1350W
    • Battery type:Lithium-ion
    • Topology:Line-interactive
    • Output:Pure sine wave
    • Runtime at half load:Up to 17.7 minutes
    • Runtime at full load:7.5 minutes
    • Form factor:2U rackmount
    • Remote monitoring:RDU120 card included
    • Warranty:5 years for UPS and battery
    Our verdict
    “Choose the PSI5 for a smaller rack where included monitoring and a longer-lived, fast-recharging battery matter more than high load capacity.”
  2. CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/2700W Sinewave UPS Battery Backup and Surge Protector

    CyberPower PR3000LCDSL 3000VA/2700W Sinewave UPS Battery Backup and Surge Protector

    Best for Straightforward High-Capacity Backup

    View Latest Price

    The CyberPower PR3000LCDSL gives a rack or equipment area 2700W of sinewave backup across seven outlets, with an LCD that shows runtime, battery status, and load. That local readout makes it easier to check operating headroom than on the CyberPower PR1000RT2UC, while its 3000VA capacity accommodates a larger load. AVR corrects minor voltage swings without using battery charge, which can preserve backup time for actual outages. The main compromise is remote management readiness: network monitoring requires a separately purchased RMCARD205, whereas the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN includes that card. Its three-year warranty covers the battery, but the product data does not specify runtime at a given load, so I would verify runtime against the equipment list before assigning it to a critical rack.

    Pros:
    • 2700W capacity supports more equipment than the 1000W CyberPower PR1000RT2UC
    • Seven battery-backed, surge-protected outlets
    • LCD reports runtime, battery, and load information
    • AVR and three-year battery warranty
    Cons:
    • Remote management requires a separately purchased RMCARD205
    • Product data does not state runtime at half or full load
    • Three-year coverage is shorter than the Vertiv PSI5’s five-year warranty

    Best for: IT teams that need 2700W of sinewave backup, clear local status, and seven protected outlets without requiring included network monitoring.

    Not ideal for: Operators who need built-in remote management or documented runtime for a specific critical load; the management card is extra and load-specific runtime is not provided here.

    • Capacity:3000VA / 2700W
    • Outlets:Six NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-20R
    • Input plug:NEMA L5-30P
    • Power cord:10 ft
    • Waveform:Sinewave
    • Voltage regulation:Automatic voltage regulation (AVR)
    • Remote management:Requires optional RMCARD205
    • Warranty:3 years, including the battery
    Our verdict
    “Pick the PR3000LCDSL when you want 2700W of locally monitored sinewave backup and can manage the rack without an included network card.”
  3. CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000VA Online UPS Battery Backup

    CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN 3000VA Online UPS Battery Backup

    Best for Power-Sensitive Loads

    View Latest Price

    For equipment that needs power conditioning continuously, the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN stands apart from the line-interactive Vertiv Liebert PSI5: it uses online UPS topology and provides 3000VA/2700W. It also arrives with an RMCARD205 for SNMP/HTTP monitoring, so network visibility does not depend on buying a separate card as it does with the CyberPower PR3000LCDSL. Its support for up to ten optional battery modules gives operators a path to longer runtime as requirements grow. That expansion is a tradeoff: the modules are not included, and the rackmount unit may be more than a basic network cabinet needs. The product data does not state runtime at a particular load, so I would confirm the required hold-up time and battery configuration before relying on it for shutdown planning.

    Pros:
    • Online topology for power-sensitive equipment
    • Pre-installed RMCARD205 supports SNMP/HTTP remote monitoring
    • Supports up to ten optional BP72V60ART2U battery modules
    • 2700W output with seven battery-backed outlets
    Cons:
    • Extended battery modules are optional
    • Product data does not give runtime at a specified load
    • 3000VA rackmount capacity may exceed the needs of a basic setup

    Best for: Data center operators protecting sensitive server, storage, telecom, or network loads who want online topology, network monitoring, and optional runtime expansion.

    Not ideal for: Small deployments seeking a simple, lower-capacity UPS or buyers who need extended runtime without adding separately sold battery modules.

    • Capacity:3000VA / 2700W
    • Topology:Online
    • Output waveform:Sine wave
    • Outlets:Six NEMA 5-20R and one L5-30R
    • Selectable output voltage:100, 110, 115, 120, or 125V
    • Remote monitoring:SNMP/HTTP with pre-installed RMCARD205
    • Extended battery support:Up to ten optional BP72V60ART2U modules
    • Warranty:3 years, including batteries
    Our verdict
    “Choose the OL3000RTXL2UN for power-sensitive loads when online topology and built-in network monitoring justify planning for optional battery expansion.”
  4. CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery Backup

    CyberPower PR1000RT2UC Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery Backup

    Best for Small Server Racks

    View Latest Price

    The CyberPower PR1000RT2UC is the compact-capacity pick for a small server, VoIP, or telecom rack where 1000W is enough and outlet count matters. It offers eight NEMA 5-15R outlets, sine wave output, AVR, built-in cloud monitoring, and an adjustable LCD. Compared with the CyberPower PR3000LCDSL, it gives up 1700W of capacity but adds cloud monitoring without requiring a management card for that feature; dedicated remote management still needs the separately sold RMCARD205. The smaller capacity can keep a lightly loaded rack from being overprovisioned, but it leaves less room for added equipment than the 2700W CyberPower units. Its right-angle, offset input plug may also complicate cable routing in a crowded rack, so check clearance before installation.

    Pros:
    • Eight NEMA 5-15R outlets for connected equipment
    • Built-in cloud monitoring and adjustable multifunction LCD
    • Sine wave output and AVR
    • Three-year warranty includes batteries
    Cons:
    • 1000W capacity is substantially below the 2700W CyberPower PR3000LCDSL
    • RMCARD205 for remote management is sold separately
    • Right-angle, 45-degree-offset input plug may limit cable clearance

    Best for: Small IT teams protecting a few servers, VoIP equipment, or telecom devices that benefit from cloud status and eight outlets.

    Not ideal for: Operators consolidating a high-wattage rack or needing included SNMP card-based management; this unit is limited to 1000W and the card is separate.

    • Capacity:1000VA / 1000W
    • Output waveform:Sine wave
    • Outlets:8 NEMA 5-15R
    • Input plug:NEMA 5-15P, right angle, 45-degree offset
    • Power cord:10 ft
    • Monitoring:Built-in cloud monitoring
    • Voltage regulation:Automatic Voltage Regulation (AVR)
    • Warranty:3 years, including batteries
    Our verdict
    “Choose the PR1000RT2UC for a small rack that needs eight outlets and cloud status but does not need the capacity of a 3000VA unit.”
  5. APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-Mount UPS, 4250W

    APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA Rack-Mount UPS, 4250W

    Best for High-Load 208V Racks

    View Latest Price

    The APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA is the high-load option here, rated for 4250W with 208V input and output. That makes it better suited to a substantial rack with compatible 208V distribution than the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN, which is rated at 2700W and offers a wider set of 120V output choices. The APC provides four receptacles—two NEMA L6-20R and two L6-30R—so its outlet mix fits higher-voltage equipment but offers fewer connection points than the CyberPower models. Recharge time is listed at 1.5 hours, and the chassis occupies 3U. At 123 lb, installation and rack handling require planning; product data also does not specify runtime, so match its capacity to the load and confirm backup duration separately.

    Pros:
    • 4250W capacity exceeds the 2700W CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN
    • 208V input and output suit compatible high-load equipment
    • Includes both NEMA L6-20R and L6-30R receptacles
    • Listed battery recharge time is 1.5 hours
    Cons:
    • 123 lb weight makes installation and rack handling demanding
    • Four receptacles provide fewer direct connections than the seven-outlet CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN
    • Product data does not specify runtime at a given load

    Best for: Data center teams with compatible 208V infrastructure that need up to 4250W of rack-mounted backup capacity.

    Not ideal for: Sites with only 120V equipment, racks that cannot safely handle a 123 lb UPS, or buyers who need documented runtime and many outlet connections.

    • Load capacity:5000VA / 4250W
    • Input voltage:208V AC
    • Output voltage:208V AC
    • Receptacles:2 x NEMA L6-20R, 2 x NEMA L6-30R
    • Battery recharge time:1.5 hours
    • Rack height:3U
    • Form factor:Rack-mountable
    • Weight:123 lb
    Our verdict
    “Choose the APC SRT 5000VA when your rack has 208V distribution and needs more wattage than the 3000VA options provide.”
  6. CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000VA/3000W Smart App Sinewave UPS

    CyberPower PR3000RTXL2UC 3000VA/3000W Smart App Sinewave UPS

    Best for Extendable Runtime

    View Latest Price

    The PR3000RTXL2UC pairs a full 3000W capacity with sine wave output, making it a strong fit for data center racks where sensitive server power supplies need clean backup. Automatic voltage regulation can handle minor fluctuations without drawing on the battery, while the rotating, tilting LCD makes status checks easier in either rack or tower placement. Compared with the PR2000RT2UCN, it offers 1000W more capacity and support for an extended battery module, but the PR2000RT2UCN includes remote management hardware in the box. Here, the RMCARD205 is optional, so remote management adds a separate purchase. I’d choose this model when capacity and a path to longer runtime matter more than bundled management; buyers should size it to their actual load and confirm the rack’s L5-30 connection.

    Pros:
    • 3000W capacity and sine wave output suit sensitive server equipment.
    • Automatic voltage regulation corrects minor power fluctuations without switching to battery.
    • Supports the BP48VP2U02 extended battery module for added runtime.
    • Rotating, tilting LCD can be positioned for rack or tower use.
    Cons:
    • RMCARD205 remote management card is sold separately.
    • Extended battery module is an additional component to plan and install.
    • NEMA L5-30P input requires a compatible circuit and receptacle.

    Best for: Data center operators protecting server or telecom loads near 3000W who want the option to add an extended battery module.

    Not ideal for: Teams that need remote management ready at installation or whose racks lack a compatible NEMA L5-30P input connection.

    • Capacity:3000VA / 3000W
    • Topology:Line-interactive
    • Output waveform:Sine wave
    • Outlets:Eight NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-30R
    • Input plug:NEMA L5-30P
    • Power cord:10 feet
    • Monitoring:Built-in cloud monitoring; RMCARD205 required for remote management
    • Extended battery module:BP48VP2U02 supported
    • Warranty:3 years, including batteries
    Our verdict
    “Choose this model for a 3000W server load when expandable runtime matters and you can source remote management separately.”
  7. CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery Backup

    CyberPower PR2000RT2UCN Smart App Sinewave UPS Battery Backup

    Best for Included Remote Management

    View Latest Price

    The PR2000RT2UCN is the management-ready choice for a smaller server rack: its pre-installed RMCARD205 and cloud monitoring give administrators remote visibility without sourcing a separate card. Its sine wave output, eight battery-backed outlets, and AVR cover common server and telecom needs, while the 2U rack/tower design and adjustable LCD make placement more flexible. Compared with the 3000W PR3000RTXL2UC, this unit supplies 1000W less capacity and the listed runtime is only four minutes; the trade is a standard NEMA 5-20P input rather than the larger model’s L5-30P connection. I’d favor it for a measured load that fits within 2000W and benefits from built-in management. It is a weaker fit where a longer shutdown window or substantial future load growth is required.

    Pros:
    • Pre-installed RMCARD205 and cloud monitoring provide remote visibility out of the box.
    • Sine wave output supports sensitive equipment and active PFC power supplies.
    • AVR corrects minor voltage fluctuations without using battery charge.
    • Eight NEMA 5-20R outlets provide backup and surge protection.
    Cons:
    • Listed runtime is four minutes, limiting the available shutdown window.
    • 2000W capacity is below the PR3000RTXL2UC and other 3000W options.
    • Requires a compatible NEMA 5-20P input connection.

    Best for: IT teams protecting a modest server or telecom rack that want remote monitoring included and have a compatible 20A NEMA 5-20 connection.

    Not ideal for: Operators with loads approaching 2000W or systems that need more than the listed four-minute runtime to shut down safely.

    • Capacity:2000VA / 2000W
    • Form factor:2U rack/tower convertible
    • Input and output voltage:120V AC
    • Outlets:8 NEMA 5-20R
    • Input plug:NEMA 5-20P
    • Runtime:4 minutes
    • Remote management:Pre-installed RMCARD205; built-in cloud monitoring
    • Display:Rotatable and tiltable multifunction LCD
    • Warranty:3 years, including batteries
    Our verdict
    “Pick the PR2000RT2UCN for a moderate rack load when included remote management matters more than higher capacity or longer runtime.”
  8. CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart App Sinewave UPS, 3000VA/3000W, 9 Outlets, 2U Rack/Tower

    CyberPower PR3000RTXL2U Smart App Sinewave UPS, 3000VA/3000W, 9 Outlets, 2U Rack/Tower

    Best for High-Capacity Rack Loads

    View Latest Price

    For a rack that needs 3000W of line-interactive backup, the PR3000RTXL2U provides nine outlets, sine wave output, and AVR in a 2U rack/tower format. Its rotating LCD helps when rack placement makes a fixed display awkward, and the supported BP48VP2U02 battery module gives operators a way to extend runtime. Compared with the PR2000RT2UCN, it has 1000W more capacity and an L5-30 input, but the smaller model bundles its remote management card. This PR3000’s RMCARD205 is optional, and its listed runtime is just two minutes, so the extra capacity does not automatically mean a longer shutdown window. I’d shortlist it for concentrated high-wattage loads with a known shutdown plan; other 3000W choices may suit buyers who need different monitoring or topology.

    Pros:
    • 3000W capacity with sine wave output supports sensitive equipment and active PFC supplies.
    • Nine outlets include eight NEMA 5-20R and one NEMA L5-30R.
    • AVR addresses minor power fluctuations without drawing battery power.
    • Supports the BP48VP2U02 extended battery module.
    Cons:
    • Listed runtime is two minutes, a narrow window for graceful shutdown.
    • RMCARD205 remote management card is optional.
    • Extended battery module is sold separately.

    Best for: Data center teams consolidating up to 3000W of server or telecom equipment into a 2U rack/tower UPS and planning runtime expansion separately.

    Not ideal for: Sites needing remote management included or a longer battery window without adding an external battery module.

    • Capacity:3000VA / 3000W
    • Form factor:2U rack/tower
    • Topology:Line-interactive
    • Input and output voltage:120V AC
    • Outlets:8 × NEMA 5-20R; 1 × NEMA L5-30R
    • Input connector:NEMA L5-30P
    • Runtime:2 minutes
    • Battery:Sealed lead-acid
    • Warranty:3 years, including batteries
    Our verdict
    “Choose this 2U unit for a high-wattage rack load when its outlet mix fits and you have a separate plan for runtime and remote management.”
  9. Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA/4500W UPS Battery Backup, 2U Rack/Tower Mount

    Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 5000VA/4500W UPS Battery Backup, 2U Rack/Tower Mount

    Best for 208V High-Capacity Loads

    View Latest Price

    The Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 raises the ceiling to 4500W at 208V, making it the capacity pick here for compatible high-load equipment. Its pure sine wave output and AVR protect critical electronics, while programmable outlet groups let operators reserve battery runtime for priority devices. Compared with CyberPower’s PR3000RTXL2U, it offers 1500W more output and 208V operation, but it has only four battery backup outlets and a listed three minutes at full load. The 51-pound chassis also takes more care to install than a lighter unit, and its two-year warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage on the CyberPower models. I’d select it when the rack is built for its voltage and connector and the load benefits from outlet prioritization, not simply for its headline capacity.

    Pros:
    • 4500W output provides more capacity than the 3000W CyberPower models.
    • Pure sine wave output and AVR support sensitive critical electronics.
    • Programmable outlet groups can prioritize runtime for essential equipment.
    • Rack-mount or tower installation and a rotatable LCD offer placement flexibility.
    Cons:
    • Runtime is three minutes at full load.
    • Four battery backup outlets may constrain larger equipment groups.
    • At 51 pounds, installation and handling require more planning; warranty is two years.

    Best for: Data center operators with compatible 208V equipment and a high load who can use programmable outlet groups to prioritize critical systems.

    Not ideal for: Teams with 120V-only racks, many devices needing battery-backed outlets, or limited installation support for a 51-pound UPS.

    • Capacity:5000VA / 4500W
    • Output voltage:208V
    • Output current:18.37A
    • Form factor:2U rack mount / tower convertible
    • Battery backup outlets:4; programmable outlet groups
    • Connector:NEMA L6-30R
    • Runtime:3 minutes at full load; up to 10 minutes at half load
    • Weight:51 pounds
    • Warranty:2 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the PSI5-5000RT208 when your rack supports 208V and 4500W capacity with prioritized outlets outweighs its short full-load runtime.”
best backup batteries for data centers
What makes a great backup batteries for data center
1
Size for watts and runtime, not just VA
VA describes apparent power, while watts describe the real power a UPS can supply to connected equipment.
2
Choose the protection design for the power conditions
Online UPS systems continuously convert incoming power, which can suit sensitive loads or sites with frequent voltage and frequenc
3
Treat rack fit and electrical service as sizing requirements
A UPS that fits the load can still fail the deployment if the rack cannot take its depth, weight, or heat output.
4
Plan battery maintenance and replacement before rollout
Battery chemistry affects more than the initial purchase: it can influence expected service life, replacement intervals, weight, a
How to choose your backup batteries for data center
1
How we picked
I ranked these UPS systems around data center buying needs: protection design, stated VA and watt capacity, deployment f
2
Size for watts and runtime, not just VA
VA describes apparent power, while watts describe the real power a UPS can supply to connected equipment.
3
Choose the protection design for the power conditions
Online UPS systems continuously convert incoming power, which can suit sensitive loads or sites with frequent voltage an
4
Treat rack fit and electrical service as sizing requirements
A UPS that fits the load can still fail the deployment if the rack cannot take its depth, weight, or heat output.
5
Plan battery maintenance and replacement before rollout
Battery chemistry affects more than the initial purchase: it can influence expected service life, replacement intervals,
Vetted backup batteries for data centers ·
The best backup batteries for data centers, compared
★ Winner Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lit
Best for Long Service Life
9compared
5000VA / 4500Wtop capacity

How We Picked

I ranked these UPS systems around data center buying needs: protection design, stated VA and watt capacity, deployment fit, monitoring features, and battery service considerations. For equipment that needs continuous power conditioning, the online CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN leads the list. Higher-capacity systems from APC and Vertiv follow for deployments with larger loads, while the Vertiv lithium-ion 1500VA model earns a place for smaller installations where battery chemistry and footprint may matter.

The CyberPower PR models are grouped by capacity, rack or tower flexibility, and listed management features rather than treated as interchangeable products. I gave more weight to a clear fit for a specific data center need than to a bigger number on the nameplate. Product names and headline ratings do not establish runtime, compatibility, or total cost of ownership, so buyers should confirm manufacturer specifications against their load and site requirements before ordering.

Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which backup batteries for data center fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Backup Batteries For Data Centers

I’d size the UPS around the job it must perform during a power event, then check whether the equipment can actually be installed and serviced where it will live. These decisions can matter more than choosing between two similar model names.

Size for watts and runtime, not just VA

VA describes apparent power, while watts describe the real power a UPS can supply to connected equipment. Compare the UPS watt rating with the measured or planned load, and leave capacity for startup peaks and reasonable growth. Next, decide how long the system needs to support that load: a short bridge to a generator calls for a different battery plan than a controlled shutdown without generator backup. Ask for runtime estimates at your actual watt draw, since runtime falls as load rises. Avoid sizing to a best-case runtime figure at a small fraction of rated capacity. For critical racks, include the time needed for staff or automation to respond, not just the time needed to keep devices on.

Choose the protection design for the power conditions

Online UPS systems continuously convert incoming power, which can suit sensitive loads or sites with frequent voltage and frequency variation. Line-interactive designs can correct some voltage changes without drawing on the battery, a useful fit where power is relatively stable and efficiency or purchase simplicity matters. Neither design is automatically right for every rack: the site’s power quality, equipment tolerance, and operating plan should drive the choice. Check transfer behavior and output waveform against the needs of servers, storage, and network gear. A common mistake is to pay for a protection architecture without identifying the problem it needs to solve. Confirm the design with facility and IT teams before standardizing across a room.

Treat rack fit and electrical service as sizing requirements

A UPS that fits the load can still fail the deployment if the rack cannot take its depth, weight, or heat output. Measure usable rack depth and confirm rail compatibility, mounting hardware, and the clearance needed for cables and battery access. Tower and rack/tower models offer placement flexibility, but that flexibility does not remove electrical or ventilation constraints. Verify input voltage, plug type, circuit capacity, and any hardwiring requirements with the facilities team. Check outlet types and counts against the equipment plan, including whether loads need separate groups. These checks prevent late changes to rack layouts, circuits, or power distribution.

Plan battery maintenance and replacement before rollout

Battery chemistry affects more than the initial purchase: it can influence expected service life, replacement intervals, weight, and how maintenance is scheduled. Lithium-ion options may suit sites seeking a different service profile, but verify warranty terms, battery replacement procedures, and compatibility with your operating policies. For any chemistry, check whether batteries are user-replaceable, whether service can happen without taking the UPS offline, and how replacement modules are sourced. Include battery health monitoring and inspection responsibilities in the maintenance plan. A neglected battery can leave a high-capacity UPS unable to deliver the runtime the design assumed. Set a replacement process before deployment rather than waiting for an alert during an outage.

Match monitoring and redundancy to the operating model

Local displays help during installation and service, while network or app-based monitoring can give teams visibility across racks and sites. Decide who receives alerts, which conditions trigger escalation, and whether the UPS can report into the tools the team already uses. A monitoring feature has limited value if no one owns the alerts or if access depends on a single technician’s account. Also plan how redundancy works: two UPS units do not create a resilient design unless the electrical paths, load split, and failure response support that goal. Check whether bypass, service access, and maintenance windows fit the site’s uptime policy. Document the operating procedure alongside the equipment choice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I choose an online UPS for every data center rack?

No; the right choice depends on power quality, equipment needs, and the cost of interruption. Online systems such as the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN continuously condition output, which can suit sensitive loads or unstable supply. A line-interactive model may fit a rack with stable power and equipment that tolerates its transfer behavior. Compare efficiency, heat, operating requirements, and runtime alongside the protection design. Ask facilities and IT to agree on the required protection level before making it a site-wide standard.

How do I know whether a 3000VA UPS can support my rack?

Start with the UPS’s watt rating and the measured draw of every device that will connect to it. VA alone does not show how much real power the unit can deliver, and the same VA rating can pair with different watt limits. Leave headroom for load changes and startup behavior, then check runtime at the expected watt draw. Confirm the output voltage, outlet types, and circuit requirements as well. If the rack is part of a redundant power design, calculate the load each UPS must carry after a fault, not only during normal operation.

Is lithium-ion worth choosing for a data center UPS?

It can be a good fit when battery service life, weight, or maintenance planning favors lithium-ion, as with the Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA option in this roundup. The answer depends on the specific battery warranty, replacement process, operating environment, and lifecycle cost. Compare those details with the battery chemistry used by the alternative models rather than assuming all lithium-ion systems have the same service profile. Confirm that replacement batteries and approved service are available for the intended deployment period. Also check whether the UPS capacity and runtime suit the rack; battery chemistry cannot compensate for an undersized unit.

When should I choose a 5000VA model instead of a 3000VA unit?

Choose based on the actual watt load, the required runtime, and the growth plan, not the larger headline number alone. The APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA and Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208 serve higher-capacity use cases than the 3000VA models listed here, but their watt limits and installation details still need a direct comparison. A larger unit can add rack weight, electrical demands, and service requirements. If you are considering growth, check whether it is cheaper and safer to size for a planned load increase or add a separate UPS later. Validate the choice with a runtime estimate at the projected load.

Can I use one of these UPS systems as generator backup?

A UPS can bridge an outage while a generator starts or support equipment through a brief interruption, but its battery runtime is limited by load and battery configuration. It should not be treated as a generator replacement for extended outages without a runtime plan that supports that use. Confirm that the UPS accepts the generator’s voltage and frequency behavior, and check any manufacturer guidance for generator compatibility. Coordinate transfer behavior and grounding with the facilities team. Test the complete generator and UPS sequence under a controlled maintenance plan before relying on it for production.

Conclusion

For a data center rack that needs online power conditioning, I’d choose the CyberPower OL3000RTXL2UN as best overall. The best value direction is a CyberPower PR model sized to the real load, with the PR1000RT2UC making the most sense for smaller deployments and the PR3000 variants for larger ones; compare their exact watt, outlet, and management specifications before deciding. For higher-capacity needs, my best premium picks are the APC Smart-UPS SRT 5000VA and Vertiv Liebert PSI5-5000RT208, selected according to site fit and electrical requirements. The best option for a smaller or battery-service-conscious deployment is the Vertiv Liebert PSI5 1500VA Lithium-Ion, provided its capacity covers the load. For a first UPS purchase, I’d favor the CyberPower PR1000RT2UC when the rack load is modest and monitoring simplicity matters; whichever model you choose, confirm runtime, circuit fit, and maintenance plans against the site before deployment.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

5 Best Triple-Monitor Bundles for 2026 Trading Dashboards

Discover the top triple monitor bundles for trading dashboards in 2026. Compare size, curvature, and features to find your ideal setup.

11 Best Dual-Socket Rack Servers for Enterprise Workloads in 2026

Discover the top dual-socket rack servers for enterprise workloads in 2026. Find the best options for performance, value, and ease of use in this comprehensive guide.

15 Best 10GbE Network Switches for Faster Home and Small-Office Networks in 2027

Compare 15 10GbE network switches by port mix, management, connectivity, and fit for home labs, NAS setups, and small offices.

14 Best Hard Drives for Storage, Backup, and NAS in 2026

Compare 14 hard drives for portable storage, desktop capacity, NAS, surveillance, and gaming, with picks matched to different needs.